22571275All Fall Down (Embassy Row #1) by Ally Carter
Release Date: January 27, 2015
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Source: ARC via Heidi (Thanks!)
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Grace can best be described as a daredevil, an Army brat, and a rebel. She is also the only granddaughter of perhaps the most powerful ambassador in the world and Grace has spent every summer of her childhood running across the roofs of Embassy Row.

Now, at age sixteen, she’s come back to stay – in order to solve the mystery of her mother’s death. In the process, she uncovers an international conspiracy of unsettling proportions, and must choose her friends and watch her foes carefully if she and the world are to be saved. – Goodreads

Review:

Poor Grace. Her mother is dead, her father is in the Army and her brother is not around. Because of this she is sent to her grandfather who happens to be a fairly powerful ambassador on Embassy Row. While Grace spent every childhood summer there, she hasn’t been back since her mother’s murder which still haunts her. Grace’s grandfather’s right hand woman puts Grace in her mother’s old room which hasn’t been touched since she was last there. This doesn’t help Grace, because Grace was already haunted.

What Grace doesn’t expect is to find friends Noah (oh, sweet, sweet BFF Noah), Alexei, the Russian diplomats son who is friends with her brother, and Megan, a friend who grew on her. What I enjoyed is that Carter wrote a group of friends I could relate to like my group of crazy misfit friends. We all get along together, but we also get along seperately, which is very much how the friendships in All Fall Down worked.

Something her friends don’t know, is that Grace has a secret, everyone around her thinks she’s crazy. All she wants is someone to believe her, that she saw the man who killed her mother. Grace hides this from her friends, and when they ultimately find out they are annoyed that not only they were lied to, but that she lead them on a wild goose chase drove them away from her.

“I don’t need a bath!” I’m shouting now. I can’t help it. “I need someone to listen to me! I need someone to believe me!” –pg 124. ARC

I, as a reader, didn’t know if I could believe her until about the last chapter. This made for a nail bitter page turner type of novel. Ally Carter wrote a lot in a 300 page novel, but All Falls Down is a quick enjoyable read. I adore Ally Carter’s writing. I have been a fan of her two previous series so I was very excited to start All Fall Down. And All Fall Down did not disappoint. This is not a light fluffy book, but it has all the types of characters I’ve come to love from Carter’s novels. A strong heroine, who you wouldn’t always want to be best friends with, because has she lost her mind? A group of friends who shouldn’t work together, but do, and people who care about you, even when you don’t want them to. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series and see where Carter takes it.