Untitled-2When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Ellie Cahill is poised to coin the term “sorbet sex” with her charming twist on the age-old ‘friends-with-benefits’ story.

Dating can be fun, but it can leave a nasty taste in your mouth. For Joss, ever since her longtime boyfriend cheated on her, she doesn’t want her last memory of a guy to be that jerk. Enter her college friend, Matt. They come up with a theory: after a bad break-up, a person needs to cleanse the palate with a little sorbet sex. Lovers for a night, but always back to being friends in the morning. The two can handle it because they have a contract: rules they wrote, rules they follow and rules they can sometimes bend. The arrangement works: everyone needs a little sorbet now and again … until it starts to be the only thing you want. And then Joss breaks the one rule they never wrote down: don’t fall in love. – Goodreads

Review:

I know. I know, every time I say I’m done with New Adult, I am sucked back in. Mood reading, you are my fickle bitch. I will openly admit to liking this story more than I expected if only for the fact it took place in the WISCONSIN–my heart. That being said, so much of this book did not work for me. When Joss Met Matt is the story of, wait for it, when Joss met Matt, and UW-Madison in their dorms.

Told between then and now, Cahill weaves together two stories of love and the mess that happens when you fall in love, including other characters. For half of the novel, I was enjoying the fact that Joss and Matt were not only seeing each other for their sorbet sex, but that they were falling in love with other people that the other person disliked. It was real and my heart went out to both of them. However, there was a point that I stopped enjoying the game, and I wanted them to figure their shit out. I was done. I was annoyed and had this need to skip, because if they were going to keep skirting around their feelings, I was not here for that.

Which confused even me, because usually I don’t care about that. I am fine with the dipping the toes in the water, and the falling in love with each other slowly, but it wasn’t slowly. It was obvious to me, as a reader at least, that they were in love with each other and instead of talking to each other they ignored it. I think what happened was I just got bored with it. And yes, I did end up skimming and enjoying the ending, but by then I was done.