22896551None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio
Release Date: April 7, 2015
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: starstarstarstarstar (4.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she’s intersex . . . and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above is a thought-provoking novel that explores what it means to be a boy, a girl, or something in between.

What if everything you knew about yourself changed in an instant?

When Kristin Lattimer is voted homecoming queen, it seems like another piece of her ideal life has fallen into place. She’s a champion hurdler with a full scholarship to college and she’s madly in love with her boyfriend. In fact, she’s decided that she’s ready to take things to the next level with him.

But Kristin’s first time isn’t the perfect moment she’s planned–something is very wrong. A visit to the doctor reveals the truth: Kristin is intersex, which means that though she outwardly looks like a girl, she has male chromosomes, not to mention boy “parts.”

Dealing with her body is difficult enough, but when her diagnosis is leaked to the whole school, Kristin’s entire identity is thrown into question. As her world unravels, can she come to terms with her new self?  – Goodreads

Review:

My heart. This book. I do not know where to begin if I’m being honest because it effected me that much. I did not expect to care about this book as much as I did if I’m being honest. But what I know is I stat down to start None of the Above and the next thing I knew the book was done and I was full of feelings wanting more from these characters. I loved None of the Above and I’m a believer that this book will start the next wave of YA books where it isn’t “typical.”

Kristin is a very every day high school girl. She’s on the track and field team, she has a solid group of friends, a boyfriend, and was even voted Homecoming Queen (even though she still doesn’t understand why.) After a horrible painful, first time, Kristin decides to be logical and go to the doctor and that is when the doctor tells her the “bad” news. Seeing Kristin’s mother died of cervical cancer, her father and her jump to the fear that it’s cancer, but it’s not. Instead the doctor tells her that she’s intersex, or the extremely outdated term of hermaphrodite. Kristin sees this as her life is ending.

For a bit Kristin keeps it to herself, then a snowball effect occurs and everyone knows. Kristin again, sees this as her life ending, but not once did I feel like she was being over dramatic, I saw this as how anyone, or in particular, Kristin is handling the news. None of the Above  was a painfully realistic book about not only finding out what it means to be intersex, but ultimately finding yourself.

However, with her father’s assistance and ultimately herself, Kristin ends up finding that being intersex isn’t that bad and that maybe, just maybe that previous life wasn’t everything you thought it was. What was also interesting to me, as a reader, was how much I learned while reading None of the Above, but this book never once felt clinical or like a textbook. I am resisting quoting during the review because there is so much of the book I would end up, proudly quoting because I felt that Gregorio understood me as a reader, and as a person, even though she doesn’t know I exist and I am definitely not intersex. My heart constantly went out for Kristin as she found out who her true friends are and how life doesn’t always get wrapped up in a bow, but it’s often better than we could ever expect it to be.