16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Source: Bloomsbury (Thanks!)
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!– Goodreads

Review:

I tried to resist the siren’s song that is this book. When I say siren’s song, I mean three dear friends of mine telling me I had to read it, which goes against every bone in my body because it’s fantasy and I’m not a fantasy person. The fact I gave Maas’ Throne of Glass a second chance and fell in love with it means nothing. NOTHING I SAY. This is a really, really long winded way to say I was being silly because I devoured A Court of Thorns and Roses. Maas’ ability to not only create a new world, but one that me in love with her new characters.

Feyre is a teenager that lives with her disabled father, and her two sisters. When her mother was on her deathbed she requested that Feyre would always look after her siblings and her father. Because of this Feyre grew up fast. She can hunt and barter extremely well. What Feyre doesn’t expect is this to get her into trouble when she kills, what she thought was a wolf in the woods.

While it is a wolf, it is also a faerie and the leader comes to her looking for repayment, which in this case is a life for a life.  This is horrible to Feyre, she has grown up with the legends about Fae, she knows how bad they are and how this essentially dooms her for life. However, she agrees to go with him, he guarantees her family’s safety, and ultimately that is the most important to her.

“If it greieves you,” he said softly, the words caressing my bones, “then I don’t think it’s absurd at all.”- p. 172 ARC

Of course, Feyre is a fighter and tries hard to flee the estate. What Feyre doesn’t expect is, in Tamlin’s land to be looked down as a second class citizen. Even worse. She’s a human. Feyre also learns all of those legends that she was told..are not all truthful. Slowly Feyre and Tamlin go from being frosty to..it melts quiet nicely. There are small moments in which my heart went out to both of them because they are trying so hard but prejudices make life hard to change sometime.

The feeling was startling enough that I walked out, grasping the crumppled paper in my pocket as if doing so could somehow keep that answering smile from tugging on my lips.–p147 ARC.

While the Throne of Glass series has shown that Maas can write epic scenes, A Court of Thorns and Roses shows that she can also write sexy, slow burning scenes that make you want to clutch your heart. Basically I had a lot of feelings throughout this entire book. At one point Tamlin asks Feyre what would make her happy and she has no idea, because she’s never thought about herself, she was always concerned about the welfare of others. She’s also strong and often stands up for herself. Much like in Throne of Glass, Maas writes girls who, are all strong, feminine, but also weak and human. They are also all different. Not once did I compare this to Throne of Glass because I was firmly in a different world, one that Maas made me never want to leave.

That isn’t to say this is a perfect book. It’s not. There are a handful of problematic areas to me. The main character is consistently drugged, she killed a dear friend of people and was forgiven right away, there is also a fairly obvious love triangle that I’m not into.I do however still recommend the book, even with problematic aspects.