18333999Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys) by Amy Spalding
Release Date: April 7, 2015
Publisher: Poppy
Source: Netgalley
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist meets Easy A in this hilariously realistic story of sneaking out, making out, and playing in a band.

After catching their bandmates in a compromising position, sixteen-year-old Los Angelenos Riley and Reid become painfully aware of the romance missing from their own lives. And so a pact is formed: they’ll both try to make something happen with their respective crushes and document the experiences in a shared notebook.

While Reid struggles with the moral dilemma of adopting a dog to win over someone’s heart, Riley tries to make progress with Ted Callahan, who she’s been obsessed with forever-His floppy hair! His undeniable intelligence! But suddenly cute guys are popping up everywhere. How did she never notice them before?! With their love lives going from 0 to 60 in the blink of an eye, Riley and Reid realize the results of their pact may be more than they bargained for. – Goodreads

Review:

This book has been on my radar…forever. I’ve had multiple friends read it, but I never got to it. And then I went to Amy Spalding’s book launch when I was in Los Angeles in April and her reading it sold me on the book. While I read this book, I would actually go back and listen to the audiobook of Spalding reading it because I enjoyed her reading it that much.

Ted Callahan was a complete gem. Full of humor, wit, friendships and family I wanted more of it. I wanted more of Riley, who was so painfully realistic I wanted to hug her at multiple points throughout the novel. While she could read juvenile, but I related so much to her. Seeing the boy that you’re in love with and then having to speak to him?! THEN WHEN YOU DO IT’S WORD VOMIT. Oh Riley, I understood why you had problems talking to Ted. I had problems talking to my own Ted. I thought I hid it so well. HAHA. Everyone knew. And look, I’m still alive!

Riley is trying to figure out life. Not just in the teen sense, but in the sense her BFF, who is in Riley’s band, is dating a fellow band member and now Riley feels left out. Riley and Reid, the other band mate in the four piece that is not dating, bond and become closer friends through a notebook where they write fairly inappropriate things.

I’m not sure the last time I laughed as hard as I laughed at Kissing Ted Callahan (and other guys.) While Riley is trying to figure out her life, her family and friends are too, and it’s painful and uncomfortable, but so, so, so real. What I enjoyed more than the laughter was the fact that Spalding made friendship as important if not more important than the love story, and you guys know my feelings on strong female friendships!