16181625Lion Heart (Scarlet #3) by A.C. Gaughen
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: Publisher
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star (2.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

The eagerly-awaited conclusion to the Scarlet trilogy delivers another action-packed and romance-filled adventure.

Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.

Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape from the Prince’s clutches, she learns that King Richard’s life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine demands a service Scarlet can’t refuse: spy for her and help bring Richard home safe. But fate—and her heart—won’t allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long, and together, Scarlet and Rob must stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England. They can not rest until he’s stopped, but will their love be enough to save them once and for all? – Goodreads

Review:

While I adored the first two books in this series I struggled with Lion Heart. I recently described Scarlet as perfection, Lady Thief as strong! female! book and then I held up my copy of Lion Heart where it took me a month to read half of it. I would love to say books take me that long when I love them and never want them to end, but generally that happens when I can’t get into them.

Lion Heart was no different. I struggled with it. While I loved Scarlet, Rob, and the merry band of characters that I’ve known to love from these characters, I found issues with getting back into the story and fought my way through the story. About 60% through it picked up for me and I finally had that A-HA! moment. While I do wish it would have come sooner, I am so glad that I stuck around for this ending. Gaughen doesn’t hold back and lays it all out on the table in this final book. I never was sure who was going to survive and who was going to die. While many authors take the safe, easy route when it comes to final books Gaughen did not. From scenes full of love to scenes full of fighting the book did move quickly, even though it did take me so long to get into.

What I enjoyed was how much Scarlet had grown since the first novel, Scarlet. She is very much the same character who was willing to fight for what she believed in, but she also learned multiple secrets from her past that change her, even though Scar tries to resist those changes for so long. While Lion Heart was a solid conclusion to the ending of the series, I do wish it wouldn’t have taken me so long to get into.