12700353Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
Release Date: March 1, 2012
Publisher: Amulet Books
Source: Audiobook from library
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight. – Goodreads

Review:

I have wanted to read this book…forever and for no reason but other books came around have I not read it.What made this book work for me was the audio book narration. This book had seven narrators, and they all worked. They all kept me invested in this story, particularly when I was loathing Greg. Because here’s the thing, while we talk about female’s being unlikable characters…all the time, we rarely discuss unlikable male characters. Greg is oh so unlikable.

The audiobook brought out how awkward people are. People who are dying. People who don’t know what to say. People who are short. People who want to be left alone. I enjoyed the awkwardness, it was realistic and made me feel part of the story. What was also enjoyable was the fact that this was not another cancer/issue book. Yeah, Rachel has cancer. Yeah, that sucks. But this book is about Greg.

What I also found interesting was Earl and his friendship with Greg. It is very clear that these two are very much opposites who work as friends. Even though Greg would deny having any friends, Earl is his friend. There is no one way to have a friendship and although Greg sees Earl as a movie making co-worker (something they bonded over and both love) Greg and Earl are very much friends, who are still trying to figure out being teenage boys. Greg is also very much friends with Rachel, the dying girl, who Greg doesn’t feel comfortable around and yet is actually friends with. Greg enjoys being invisible. The fact that he might not be invisible actually scares him.

While I enjoyed that this book had potential, it unfortunately did not work for me. I can picture a handful of friends who are not surprised by this fact either. I don’t regret trying this book out. I just wish I would have enjoyed it more.