20649195Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
Release Date: July 2, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: Publisher (Thanks!)
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

In a stunning literary debut, two boys on opposite ends of the world begin an unlikely friendship that will change their lives forever.

Ollie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker. Both hermits from society, the boys develop a fierce bond through letters that become a lifeline during dark times—as Ollie loses his only friend, Liz, to the normalcy of high school and Moritz deals with a bully set on destroying him.

A story of impossible friendship and hope under strange circumstances, this debut is powerful, dark and humorous in equal measure. These extraordinary voices bring readers into the hearts and minds of two special boys who, like many teens, are just waiting for their moment to shine. – Goodreads

Review:

Because You’ll Never Meet Me is the story of friendship. Two boys, Ollie and Moritz, who live on completely opposite sides of the world (Upper Michigan and Germany) who both have something in common: they both were born with defects that have made them hermits of society. While Ollie is forced to live in the middle of nowhere because he can’t be near electricity; Moritz is fine to live in the middle of the city, however, he wears goggles due to having no eyes and has a pacemaker.

Which means the two of them will never meet.

Due to this fact, the two open up and tell each other things, that they would have never felt comfortable telling anyone else. The two of them also learn things about not only each other, but their selves, far more than they could have expected to. As someone who reads, a lot, I was pleasantly surprised by how much this novel shocked me. I found Thomas’ writing style to be solid and to involve twists and turns that I was not aware of happening.

Of course looking back, they were obvious and I should have seen them coming, but I was so caught up in the letters that these two boys were writing that I couldn’t help but be caught up in their story. They’re two boys who have very messed up and fucked up lives. But what was constant was each other and their parents. Their parents loved them fierily and did everything they could to protect their parents, even if that wasn’t always enough.

Both boys are not perfect. They fuck up. They yell at each other. They yell at their parents. They yell at their friends. All because they don’t feel like they fit in. They aren’t comfortable in their own bodies and then when they are, they’ve alienated everyone. I found this to be a universal story. I’m not allergic to electricity, but I know what it’s like not to feel comfortable in my own body. I know what it’s like to alienate my friends, because I’m trying to protect them, but I end up hurting them instead.

While I rated this book three stars, it is not a bad three stars! It is a solid three stars and illustrates that while I enjoyed this book I have little to no interest in re-reading it.