22929578The Fixer (The Fixer #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Source: Publisher! Thanks!
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous Ivy Kendrick is Washington D.C.’s #1 “fixer,” known for making politicians’ scandals go away for a price. No sooner does Tess enroll at Hardwicke Academy than she unwittingly follows in her sister’s footsteps and becomes D.C.’s premier high school fixer, solving problems for elite teens.

Secrets pile up as each sister lives a double life. . . . until their worlds come crashing together and Tess finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy with one of her classmates and a client of Ivy’s. Suddenly, there is much more on the line than good grades, money, or politics, and the price for this fix might be more than Tess is willing to pay.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for more in this exciting new series. — Goodreads

Review:

This book is being pitched as Veronica Mars meets Scandal  and I believe that to be an A++ pitch. While I’ve never watched Scandal I’m on tumblr enough to have a good mental image about the show. I adored this book, it’s just good fun. I want more of these characters, who I’ve quickly started to view as friends. I quickly became protective of Tess. Tess started off innocent in this. She was a high school student who was looking out for her grandfather that has Alzheimer.CHHCcXkXIAAt3Bg

Then one day her sister, who hasn’t talked to her in years comes by, picks her up and wants to be back in Tess’ life. Tess has no time for that. My heart went out to Tess and her sister Ivy. Yes, Ivy left her when Tess needed her the most, but Ivy spent a lot of The Fixer trying to make her relationship with Tess stronger. Of course, I also understood why Tess had this brick wall built up around her with her sister.

Ivy’s voice was softer now. “I have been trying so hard, Tess, and I thought –” She cut herself off…..”I thought we were doing okay. I thought you were starting to trust me. I thought…” —printARC p178

Ivy’s going to be fine. I’ll hate her forever if something happens to her. She’s going to be fine. —printARC, p326

Their relationship is by far my favorite part of this novel. They were two kickass ladies who didn’t need each other, but worked so much with each other. I was pleasantly surprised by how I wanted more of these two characters. But I did welcome the other characters featured in The Fixer. From the adults that surround Ivy, who is 17 years older than Tess, to the friends Tess makes at her fancy private school everyone added something to this novel.

If she’s never going to trust me, if she’s set on hating me forever, she might as well hate me for the right reason. —printARC, p284

I’m sorry for never being what you needed. I’m sorry for doing it all wrong. I’m sorry for lying to you, and I’m sorry for telling you the way I did. I’m so sorry, baby, and I love you, and you are leaving. –printARC, p312

What I was surprised by was not only how much fun this novel was, but by how much Barnes surprised me. When I thought I was two steps ahead of Tess, I was actually just as lost and confused as she was. What that photo above doesn’t highlight is how many pages I have underlined and dog eared and how many scenes effected me or will stick with me for awhile. This is not only a book about family and growing up, but it is so much more than that. I cannot wait to see where Barnes goes in the second book. Hint: please feature more kissing.