17234658A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray
Release Date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Personal//Audio from library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure. . – Goodreads

Review:

Real talk: I was in a book rut for about a month. A month of not being able to finish a book is..weird. Particularly for someone who reads…a lot. Because I’ve been sick for the past month finishing a book has not been a priority. Which is weird for me. Because reading is always what I know. This time life was full of sick and starting books but not finishing them because podcasts worked better for me. Basically I was confused. But since I’m on the mend, here I am. However, when I was at ALA this past month, my roommate talked up the book series A Thousand Pieces of You. If I’m being honest it was in part due to the covers. My friend and I adore the covers of this series, but I never got past those covers. You know how to be read piles are…they grow.

Then the book was described to me and I decided to finally read it. Thank you dear friend telling me to read this book. I got out of my book funk! It was so nice to finish a book! I felt powerful!

A Thousand Pieces of You is the story of Marguerite Caine, a girl who’s parents are physicist and known for their radical achievements. Something Marguerite knows she can never achieve, she is far more into the arts than the sciences, and that is something that her parents are totally okay with (which is awesome to see). It was also awesome to see parents being actual parents in a YA novel.

That being said, this is not a typical YA novel, because I found it to be an interesting multi-layered story that took place in many universes. Gray took us from present day USA to a London that is really close to ours, to a Russia that couldn’t be farther apart from present day Russia if we tried. Then we circled and came back to the USA, but again, wasn’t exactly the same. Through use of Marguerite’s parents and their creation of the firebird one is able to jump universes, this leads the reader to not know where they’re going to end up when they flip the page.

I also found Marguerite to be a true, fleshed out character. She was strong, she dealt with two boys, but it was never a true romantic triangle, it was Marguerite being a teen and figuring her shit out. Which is something that many go through.

This is one of those books I was drawn into right away, in part due to the audiobook. The narrator brought this book to life. Becasue the book takes places in various locals: London, Russia, United States, the internal converstations were always in American English, but when in London, she spoke with the proper accent. Something, if I was just reading would not have been the same.