23719270Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Source:  ARC provided by publisher. (Thanks!)
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there’s room for love in a heart so full of hate. In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation. – Goodreads

Review:

It’s always interesting for me to read books that take place in Arizona, as I live here. I have this problem with the movie Bad Santa (which was to take place in Phoenix, but was clearly not filmed in Phoenix) or Take Me Home Tonight which was not to take place in Phoenix, but has multiple Phoenix landmarks. Yes. I am that person. I went into Vengeance Road hesitant, because could Bowman get the feel of Arizona right? And I’m so happy to say she did.

Throughout Vengeance Road I felt like I was up north in Prescott near Whiskey Row (which still exists) or to the west near Wickenberg, which I drive through often (usually on the way to Las Vegas.) I loved that feeling.

Vengeance Road is Erin Bowman’s debut into the western genre after her original trilogy and it did not disappoint. Bowman told the story of Kate, a gritty 18 year old who lives in the Arizona territory. Her life has been hard and because her father recently died she is out for revenge. Through use of imagery, amazing characters, and language Bowman makes the world come to life.

Vengeance Road is truly a western. Bowman packs punches with bullets flying, treasure maps, Kate acting as a man to survive. The only thing that didn’t work for me was the fact that Vengeance Road took me awhile to get into. I struggled with Kate as a character and her story, but once I got into it, I could not put it down. I was dying to know how it was going to end and that end? Bowman surprised me in the best way possible.
Although I struggled with the book at the beginning, the book as a whole was an amazing. The characters were everything I wanted, the swoons were there, the twists were there it was worth a read and I’ll be heavily recommending it.