18692431Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Source: ALAMW 2015
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star (4.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, she begins a complicated romance that challenges everything she’s ever known. The narrative unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, texts, charts, lists, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. – Goodreads

Review:

I went into this book knowing it had a lot of buzz. What that buzz didn’t tell me was how perfect the drawings were or how perfect Madeline was because she’s flawed, she lives in a bubble with only her mom and her nurse, but she’s real. Not once in Everything, Everything did I think “Oh. Madeline. She’s so cardboard cutout.” She was constantly more than that. Madeline also lead me to second guess a lot of things. Relationships, the life you’ve been living being safe.

Everything, Everything also made me question forgiveness, growth. What it means to be an adult. How friendships change, even those who are convinced will never change. Madeline and her mother are characters I want everyone to know about because their relationship was so authentically real. Between them being close, but also with Madeline growing up and apart from her mother.

You know those perfect books that are next to impossible to describe? That’s Everything, Everything to me. This book had everything: a character finding herself, a really good relationship with her mother, a really good relationship with the literal boy next door, a good relationship with her nurse. There was so many good portions I had to give up trying to pick the right quotes for this review because there were just too many of them. Ones that made me laugh, ones that made me sad (because I related to them), ones that made me have the swoons. Everything, Everything really is..everything.