20499923A Curious Tale of the In-Between (Pram #1) by Lauren DeStefano
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Source: ALAMW 2015
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star (3.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Pram Bellamy is special—she can talk to ghosts. She doesn’t have too many friends amongst the living, but that’s all right. She has her books, she has her aunts, and she has her best friend, the ghostly Felix.

Then Pram meets Clarence, a boy from school who has also lost a parent and is looking for answers. Together they arrive at the door of the mysterious Lady Savant, who promises to help. But this spiritualist knows the true nature of Pram’s power, and what she has planned is more terrifying than any ghost.

Lauren DeStefano is beloved by critics and readers alike, and her middle grade debut is lyrical, evocative and not to be missed. – Goodreads

Review:

A Curious Tale of the In-Between is that middle grade novel I believe the world needs. Pram is a special person, she can talk to ghosts. For the longest time she didn’t even know that this was a particularly special skill.

I went into this book knowing nothing but my friend Erica recommended it to me. When I had the chance to get an ARC at ALAMW in Chicago I jumped on it and it was not a disappointment. I gobbled up the first 30% of the novel before I even knew it. There was a solid portion of the middle I’m sure others will find exciting, and while I didn’t, the three act did pick back up for me and left me wanting more of Pram and her world.