22561230Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5)
by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: January 25, 2015
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Source: Audio from Library!
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.– Goodreads

Review:

Fairest is the book that is supposed to make us, the reader, understand more about the evil Queen of the series. Instead it just made me annoyed. I found it interesting to see that Levana wasn’t even the worst person in her family. Her sister was worse than her. And while her life wasn’t perfect, I don’t think her childhood means that she should have turned into evil queen. While this book could have made her turn into a better person, but it ultimately made me stabby and sigh.

It’s also painful to be in Levana’s head. When she’s making poor life choices I wanted to stop her. When she was being verbally abused by her sister I wanted to shield her. This is all a credit to Meyer’s writing. Her writing is consistently spot on and where I believed Cress needed some editing I do not have that same concern with Fairest. Meyer seems to be at her finest here. I felt like I was in this world and it was heartbreaking because I loathed every moment.

I enjoyed how characters were introduced and reminded us of the full series. But I did not enjoy the slut shaming, how the older sister is seen as this selfish and beautiful bitch. Her sister has her own problems to deal with and here Levana is constantly slut shaming her or going “oh. it’s because she’s selfish.” Why is her sister selfish? No idea. I was never actually show why Channary is this horrible person. Levana’s headspace is also extremely stressful to be in which effected my enjoyment of the book.