23110163Fallout (Lois Lane #1) by Gwenda Bond
Release Date:May 1, 2015
Publisher: Switch Press
Source: Library
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over—and seen all kinds of things. (Some of them defy explanation, like the near-disaster she witnessed in Kansas in the middle of one night.) But now her family is putting down roots in the big city, and Lois is determined to fit in. Stay quiet. Fly straight. As soon as she steps into her new high school, though, she can see it won’t be that easy. A group known as the Warheads is making life miserable for another girl at school. They’re messing with her mind, somehow, via the high-tech immersive videogame they all play. Not cool. Armed with her wit and her new snazzy job as a reporter, Lois has her sights set on solving this mystery. But sometimes it’s all a bit much. Thank goodness for her maybe-more-than-a friend, a guy she knows only by his screenname, SmallvilleGuy. – Goodreads

Review:

Something that not many knows about me. When my BFF Sarah and I lived together one glourious year of college we watch a lot of TV. Massive quantites and we loved it. We were grandmas. One show we watched a lot of on DVD was Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman. Don’t get me wrong, there was a point when that show not only jumped the shark, but quickly flew over it and went to a whole new area. But we still love that show. We reference it often enough that I was fairly excited when I heard about this book coming out.

I enjoyed this Lois Lane. She was snarky. She didn’t enjoy sitting still. She has as solid of a life as one could have for constantly being on the move and she always got in the midle of things. I love that Lois had this softer side. Yes, she wanted to help everyone, but she also second guessed things. She was very human and was a girl I would want to have been friends with in high school.

You know when you read a book and you’re like “this book should be amazing! why is it falling flat?!” That was me throughout Lois Lane: Fallout. While I appreciated Lois and I adored the surrounding cast of characters, the book ultimately fell flat for me. I expected more from it. I enjoyed the fact that Lois was very in character throughout the book and there were hints to previous Lois’ incarnations but not enough that I was holding on.