8475505Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1) by Rachel Hawkins
Release Date: October 16, 2012
Publisher: Putman Juvenile
Source: Personal Copy/Audio from library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.– Goodreads

Review:

I didn’t know I could relate to a character as much as I did Harper. Not that I’m a Southern Belle (I’m a Yankee!) and not that my family has money (they don’t!) But Harper’s need to be perfect is something I understand. Harper is what carried me throughout Rebel Belle.

The first third of the novel I struggled with, but there became this point I was hooked and I could not put the book down. I actually got upset with myself when I left my book at home and I couldn’t read it on my lunch break. There became this moment I was addicted to the characters, the setting, everything. Harper wasn’t always the perfect character, she made a lot of mistakes, she tried her hardest and sometimes failed, but I adored her. I also enjoyed her friendship with her BFF Bee. It was a realistic friendship that made me want more. They called each other on their bullshit but they also worked at their friendship to make it better. My love of strong female friendships lives on!

What Rebel Belle is about is Harper and the fact that Harper becomes a protector to her worst enemy David who also enjoys calling Harper on her bullshit. Harper doesn’t want to be a protector. She wants to graduate High School and go to a solid college, love her boyfriend Ryan and also be perfect. It kills Harper to fail at something. Harper starts to fail at everything and fast. Nothing is worse than a perfectionist who’s life starts to fall apart. Trust me, I understand Harper with every fiber of my being.

I went from being fairly bored with this book to wanting to pick up the second in the series Miss Mayhem right away. I always take that as a good sign.

AUDIOBOOK SIDE NOTE: As someone who listens to a lot of audiobooks, I’m starting to feel like they are all narrated by the same three people. I feel this way about YA movies also. They all star the same three people. These all star the same three people. Am I expecting too much to have a bit of change? I’m not saying they aren’t good narrators, they are. But they are all starting to mush together.