trueWhat I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Source: Audio from library!
Rating: starblank_starblank_starblank_starblank_star (2.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti. – Goodreads

Review:

I love Gwen. I am Gwen. Most of my friends are Gwen. Gwen is snarky, she’s full of love, mistakes. She’s messy, but she’s real. What I Thought Was True is also full of family and family love. While Fitzpatrick’s novels take place in the universe they are not required to be read in order, they do however all convey the same feels.

What I Thought Was True is the story of the haves vs the have-nots. Gwen is a have not. She’s the daughter of a cleaner and a fisherman. She’s not embarrassed of this fact, she loves her family. But what she’s aware of is those who live on the island are those that have. What I love about FItzpatrick is the fact that she doesn’t shy away from sex or discussing sex. It isn’t taboo, it’s also realistically talked about and not frowned upon or shamed.

Unfortunatley though What I Thought Was True fell flat for me. About half way through the audiobook, I knew if I was reading this I would start to skim. It was going a tad too slow for me to really be involved. I just wanted more? I wanted it to end? I’m not sure. I wanted more of the magic I had in the beginning chapters. The spark died on me.

Huntley Fitzpatrick often gets compared to Sarah Dessen and as I’ve finished my third Fitzpatrick novel, I understand. I also want to make it clear that is not a bad thing. Authors all invoke certain things and this novel invokes those summer vacation feelings. What I Thought Was True is full of characters I love. It’s full of a snarky girl, it’s full of references to romance novels, it’s full of growth. I cannot wait to see what else comes from Fitzpatrick.