25817281Caught by You: A Love Between the Bases Novel (Love Between the Bases #2) by Jennifer Bernard
Release Date: December 29, 2015
Publisher: Avon
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Love comes out of left field in the second novel in USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Bernard’s sexy baseball-themed series

Months of alternately flirting and bickering with Kilby Catfish catcher Mike Solo just turned into the hottest kiss of Donna MacIntyre’s life—and that’s a major league complication. Any hint of scandal could keep her from getting her son back from her well-connected ex. Then Mike comes up with a game-changing idea: a marriage proposal that could help win her case— even as it jeopardizes her heart . . .

Mike hasn’t been able to get the gorgeous, gutsy redhead out of his fantasies. The least he can do is fix the mess he helped create. Yet their engagement is quickly becoming about a lot more than doing the right thing. Because after swearing he’d never risk love again, Mike has found a passion that puts all his emotions in play, and a woman he’ll go to bat for again and again . . .– Goodreads

Review:

I’ve never hidden the fact that I could read paperback romances all day long, this is partly why I was so excited to get an ARC of Caught by You. I had read the first one in the series and was happy to see where the story would continue. The continuation story was…okay. While I read the story quickly there wasn’t really anything hooking me into the story.

I enjoyed the basics of the story. Boy and girl are hot for each other, can’t keep their hands off each other, do a fake engagement, etc. THESE ARE ALL THE BACKGROUNDS TO THE MAKING OF MY FAVORITE STORY. There is no reason this shouldn’t have worked. But it fell constantly flat. The fact that they thought this would help with her well connected ex was never believable for me. I tried, I tried really hard to make this work. Even with the first book in the series it was known that Kirby was a small down. People gossip, everyone’s connected, etc. But still, this round I struggled.

Donna was hung up on her past and couldn’t move on from her past. Which I understand. Everyone has something in their past that they do not want to deal with. However we all move on from that and become a stronger person. Donna never believed she was strong enough and didn’t see why others would have faith in her. I wanted to shake her. I wanted her to have this great strong backbone, and by the time she got it, it was too little too late for me to care.

This won’t be my last Bernard book, but I do hope for more from the next one.