18982137The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill
Release Date: December 8, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte
Source: Netgalley
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey…

With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm—the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize.

Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.

But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea– Goodreads

Review:
The Trouble with Destiny was an exhausting book. The main character is an anxious filled band leader who I thought I would love, but instead felt “meh” about for 80% of the book. I have no problem with anxiety driven characters. I adore Cath in Fangirl. Heck, I am my own anxiety driven character (my friends can all agree to this). But something about Liza didn’t work for me. I spent a good portion of this book wanting to tell her to breathe. And to be honest with people. And to breathe.

Liza believed carrying the weight of the world on her shoulders would save the world. Which I understand. I get that side of Liza. But I have friends who tell me to breathe. And to relax. But no one told Liza to pause. Breathe. Enjoy the fact that she’s on a cruise ship with some of her favorite people!

One thing that Morrill did that I adored was the fact that not everything is how it seems. And that sometimes it’s important to see it from someone else’s point of view. Something that needs to be discussed and thought about more.

I thought I would love and adore The Trouble with Destiny. I was mistaken! Although I’m a fan of Morrill’s previous work; The Trouble with Destiny fell extremely flat for me. From one note characters, to stereotypes I already have read enough of The Trouble with Destiny was not the cruise ship fun I thought it would be. It was a Final Destination ride I was dying to get off of.