23569053Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Source: Audio from Library!
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? – Goodreads

Review:

This is a hard book to review due to the fact that it is the fourth book in a series. Can you review a fourth book without discussing the first three? Winter is the epic conclusion to The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer. It is the final book that ties together all of those loose ends that didn’t seem important throughout the first three books. Those little moments now became important. While I wished I had time to do a re-read before I read Winter that just wasn’t possible; thankfully Meyer as usual does an excellent job of recapping without feeling like I was recapped.

What is daunting about Winter is the size. As an audiobook it is 21 segments –most YA books are 9-12. This is a beast that while listening to, I thought was never going to end. It constantly  Even though the physical book is smaller than Cress due to page thickness. Publishing! Crazy world!

The thing with Winter and The Lunar Chronicles is that I struggled with most of the series. I did not get the flailing and the hype that the blogging community did. I found Winter to be a solid end to a meh series. While the first book, Cinder, set off this series for me, I found the middle two (Scarlet and Cress– three –if you count Fairest) to be..okay. They were action filled, but I found them to be a bit long and tedious and Winter at almost 900 pages is a reminder of that. While listening to an audiobook, at 2x, I was shocked to find out that I was still moving through the book slowly At points I thought I was close to done I was moving along at a glacious pace.While Meyer is a strong writer and doesn’t hide from twists, turns, and action I do believe that a good portion of the novel could have been cut without missing anything.

This isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy the book. I did! But like the previous books, I expected more from it. I honestly think the hype of the book got to me. I really wish I could enjoy this series as much as everyone else does.I do find it to be a fitting end to the series that I came to read, but still I expected something..more.