25664417Sybil Ludington: Revolutionary War Rider by E.F. Abbott
Release Date: February 16, 2015
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Source: ARC provided by Publisher
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

What would you do if your country was counting on you to deliver a message? That’s sixteen-year-old Sybil Ludington’s urgent mission.

In 1777, Sybil and her family believe the American colonies should be free from British control. Sybil’s father leads a regiment of New York militiamen, and everyone in the family is dedicated to the Patriot cause. Using spy tactics and codes, the Ludingtons gather intelligence, hoping to stay one step ahead of their enemies. When British troops raid nearby Danbury, Connecticut, Sybil gallops through the night to call out her father’s men. But the journey is dangerous for a girl who’s all alone. With obstacles at every turn, will she make it in time to stop the British?

Based on a True Story books are exciting historical fiction about real children who lived through extraordinary times in American History– Goodreads

Review:

Sybil Ludington is a nice little middle school novel about the Revolutionary War. Where I fell into problems with it is for the longest time I fought the book. Was it non-fiction? Was it fiction? Was it fiction trying to be non-fiction? Was it non-fiction trying to read as fiction? Generally I have a clear picture within the first few pages. This book I did not peg for quite sometime. There wasn’t anything wrong with it. I just had to figure out my bearings while reading it.

That being said, it was a good book. Sybil Ludington tells the story of a girl in the American Revolutionary War who got pulled into the struggle because she wanted to help, but couldn’t based on the fact that she was a female. Sybil also uses her being a female to her advantage. She helps her father’s regiment via being a spy but of course not being seen as a spy.

Once I got over my is this fiction? Is this non-fiction? hurdle, I ultimately was thrilled to read this book. That being said, while, I personally struggled with Sybil Ludington I believe it could be a solid addition to a middle school library.