25817407The Siren by Kiera Cass
Release Date: January 26, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: ALAMW16
Rating: starblank_starblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

From Kiera Cass, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series, comes a sweeping stand-alone fantasy romance.

A girl with a secret.
The boy of her dreams.
An Ocean between them.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of.

Falling in love with a human breaks the Ocean’s rules. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart. – Goodreads

Review:

I wanted to like this book. I did. But it took me over a month to read and that’s not a good sign. The Siren was a complete and utter snoozefest. Shortly through reading about 50 pages of this book, I texted my friend telling her it read like it was Cass’ first book. I want to make it clear, there is nothing wrong with that. There are many debut books I adore, but The Siren  was not one of them. I am aware of the fact that this version is completely different than the original book she wrote, but that actually worries me more.

The Siren is the story of Kahlen and her instalove boyfriend, Akinli and here’s the thing: the instalove does not work. If it was a Disney movie, the instalove would have worked. But Cass never made their love work for me, to the point I thought it was pulling the story down. I would have much preferred a story about Kahlen finding herself because that I could have seen working.

What also didn’t work was Her. Her was too much like God for my liking and the parallel was not working for my liking and made me extremely uncomfortable. What also made me uncomfortable was how “perfect” Akinli was. There seemed to be no substance to him and I was not a fan of that. Give me a reason to root for you! Too often parts of The Siren were idealized and were not working for me.

While I was looking forward to reading a light, fluffy, read. I was highly disappointed and let down that it was anything but that.