0-439-92228-3Sea Change by Aimee Friedman
Release Date: June 1, 2009
Publisher:  Scholastic Inc
Source: Friend’s copy. (Thanks Sarah!)
Rating: starblank_starblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Sixteen-year-old Miranda Merchant is great at science. . .and not so great with boys. After major drama with her boyfriend and (now ex) best friend, she’s happy to spend the summer on small, mysterious Selkie Island, helping her mother sort out her late grandmother’s estate.There, Miranda finds new friends and an island with a mysterious, mystical history, presenting her with facts her logical, scientific mind can’t make sense of. She also meets Leo, who challenges everything she thought she knew about boys, friendship. . .and reality.Is Leo hiding something? Or is he something that she never could have imagined? – Goodreads

Review:
I expected more from this story. The plot line sounds very me so I went into the book expecting to love it. And I didn’t. I quickly fell into “is this page done yet?” “is this chapter done yet?” That’s never a good sign.

Sea Change is the story of Miranda who has some teen angst she’s dealing with (of course she is! She’s a teen!). Miranda is forced to move to an island for a summer with her mother to clean up her grandma’s home. Miranda meets a boy who lives on the island and quickly falls in love with him (too quickly. WAY too quickly.) Her mother changes on her. There is something mysterious with said new boy in her life. She doesn’t fit in with the people who her mom wants her to be friends with. Etc. Etc. Etc.

I can’t exactly pinpoint why this book annoys me so much, and I’m sorry for that. All I know is when I got to that last page I was relieved that it was done. I think I weirdly expected more. I hoped for more.